One of the things that frustrates me most….

Image

For quite a long time it has been a conscious choice of mine to take in how others perceive the world and how that influences the way they participate in it. Doing this helps me choose the best way for me to behave in a world that confuses me constantly. Perhaps if I didn’t think this way I would be much happier, but I think I would be missing out on alot of really important stuff along the way

Growing up in a small town, I was fairly naive to the ways of the world. I was always a square peg in a round hole. Outwardly people would probably not notice, except for some difficulty maintaining relationships and a few rebellious comments at school. I enjoyed challenging teachers and asking them questions I knew they couldn’t answer, especially in religious education. The problem with being a free thinker in a small town is that it is difficult to find like minded people who have enough life experience to understand what inspires you. I was very lost, for many years. From my mid teens I was depressed until I left that town. Looking back the close mindedness and belittling of others enrages me. Some experiences there have left me scarred for life.

Since then my mind has been set free and I am able to think more independently and engross myself in the many different thoughts of others. I have grown in so many ways. I like to spend time with people who challenge my thoughts or at the very least be able to sit down with and have an insightful conversation. I don’t sit and talk about clothes or shoes, ever. How boring! To be honest there is very, very few relationships in my life that are meaningful. Depression, CFS and past hurts all contribute to this problem. But at least the ones I have are important. I have been told being this way means I might be missing out on people who have something else to offer me, but unfortunately I find it very difficult to get past being an acquaintance with most people these days. Sometimes this bothers me, sometimes it doesn’t. But I can see a huge problem in this, I am a huge self contradiction. I am talking about being open minded at the same time as describing why I am closed off. Go figure. I’ll ponder that another day.

So…what’s my point? I really wish people were a little more open minded. The world would be a better place.

  • When someone at work proposes a new idea, don’t shoot them down, even if you don’t like them.
  • If a family member comes up with some seemingly ridiculous lifestyle, support them
  • Support them if it is clearly harmful, because you’re going to need to understand why they’ve taken the wrong road in order to help them get back on track.
  • Don’t ever assume that you know everything just because your older than the person giving you advice.
  • The opposite applies too, older people are wise.
  • Open your mind to new perspectives, even if they make no sense to you.
  • Look for new knowledge, educate yourself.
  • Listen, but don’t assume a person is right. Take it in and evaluate its validity then decide what to do with this new information
  • You can dismiss new knowledge, but only if you can base it on moral grounds or scientific fact.
  • You can try it and modify it.
  • You can take it on wholeheartedly and love it.
  • Evolve this way of thinking, constantly picking up tid bits of life and adding it to your evolving psyche
  • Throw ideas away, add them, change them.
  • It’s fun, it’s challenging and it’s fulfilling

“Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.”
— Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

